From BlenderWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

General Information


Student applications for Google Summer of Code (GSOC) are accepted by Google from March 29 until April 9. See the Summer of Code FAQ's page referenced at the end of this document.

In order to be accepted for a Google Summer of Code (GSoC) grant, your proposal must really stand out. Student applications are submitted at the Google Summer of Code website: http://code.google.com/soc/

Important! We ask that you follow our application template when writing your proposal: Dev:Ref/GSoC/2010/Application Template

Requirements for acceptance

  • You must be able to work on your Summer of Code project full time for the summer (i.e., we will favor applicants who have no summer school or full time job elsewhere);
  • You must be thoroughly proficient in C. Some projects may be based in C++ or python, so you should be proficient in those languages if you intend to use them.
  • You must currently be a user of some 3D graphics program, with a strong knowledge of 3D concepts. All other things being equal, preference will be given to Blender users who have good knowledge of many of the program's features;
  • You must be willing to submit weekly progress reports and be available for weekly IRC meetings;
  • All short listed candidates will undergo a brief interview on IRC;
  • Preference will be given to those who can successfully compile Blender from source on their preferred platform.

Requirements for successfully completing a Summer of Code project

  • Complete all of the goals set out in your Summer of Code application;
  • Complete a weekly status report each Friday;
  • Attend a weekly development IRC meeting on Sundays, 16:00 CEST (14:00 GMT, 10:00 EST, 07:00 PST, 01:00 AEDT) -- some exceptions may be made for people who are unable to make the meeting time;
  • Don't be late with work, reports, etc -- failure to do so may lead to early dismissal from the program;
  • Keep up regular communication with your mentor -- failure to do so may lead to early dismissal from the program.

Important Links

Project page
http://www.blender.org
Developer's mailinglist
http://projects.blender.org/mailman/listinfo/bf-committers
A guide for new developers
Dev:Doc/New Dev Info
Google Summer of Code FAQ's
http://socghop.appspot.com/document/show/gsoc_program/google/gsoc2010/faqs
An example of a successful proposal from 2005
BlenderDev/SoCIKProposal
Previous summer of code projects
Dev:Ref/GSoC/2005
Dev:Ref/GSoC/2006
Dev:Ref/GSoC/2007
Dev:Ref/GSoC/2008
Dev:Ref/GSoC/2009


Page Siblings